Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry commonly known as simply the Scottish Rite, is one of several Rites of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. A Rite is a series of progressive degrees that are conferred by various Masonic organizations or bodies, each of which operates under the control of its own central authority. In the Scottish Rite the central authority is called a Supreme Council.

The thirty-three degrees of the Scottish Rite are conferred by several controlling bodies. The first of these is the Craft Lodge which confers the Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason degrees. Craft lodges operate under the authority of Grand Lodges, not the Scottish Rite.

The Scottish Rite is one of the appendant bodies of Freemasonry that a Master Mason may join for further exposure to the principles of Freemasonry. In England and some other countries, while the Scottish Rite is not accorded official recognition by the Grand Lodge, there is no prohibition against a Freemason electing to join it. In the United States, however, the Scottish Rite is officially recognized by Grand Lodges as an extension of the degrees of Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite builds upon the ethical teachings and philosophy offered in the craft lodge, or Blue Lodge, through the presentation of the individual degrees.

Lodge of Perfection 4°th – 14°th
Venerable Master

Chapter of Rose Croix, 15° – 18°
Wise Master

Council of Kadosh, 19° – 30°

Consistory, 31° – 32°
Master of Kadosh

For more information on Scottish Rite Degrees and Scottish Rite Bodies in our area, Click Here.

2nd from left is J. Edwin Larson, Treasurer and 3rd from the left is J. Lewis Hall